Law School Board of Visitor member, Dan McGinn (’64, JD’67) Wins N.C. Bar Association Award

Press Release from Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, L.L.P.                 November 17, 2010 – Greensboro, N.C. – Greensboro attorney M. Daniel McGinn (J.D. ’67, B.A. ’64) of Brooks Pierce has been awarded the Jonathan R. Harkavy Award by the Labor and Employment Section of the North Carolina Bar Association.

McGinn is only the third recipient of the award, which is given in recognition of an attorney who exhibits outstanding service and leadership and has made significant contributions to labor and employment law in North Carolina.

The award was presented at a surprise ceremony during the annual joint meeting of the NC and SC Labor and Employment Law sections. Jon Harkavy, for whom the award is named, and Brian Clarke, Immediate Past Chair of the Section, presented the award to Dan.

Dan McGinn has been representing North Carolina businesses in labor and employment matters since 1971. Over the years, he has represented small businesses and large corporations, including American Telephone and Telegraph Company, BellSouth, Burlington Industries, Inc., Carolina Telephone & Telegraph Company, Domtar Paper Company, Hearst Corporation, Libbey Owens Ford Company, Lorillard Tobacco Company, Olin Corporation, GTE, The Kroger Company, Norfolk Southern Corporation, Sprint Corporation, Time Warner Cable, Volvo Trucks, N.A., Western Electric Company, and Weyerhaeuser Company.

He has represented companies in well over 100 labor and employment civil suits in federal and state courts, has presented fifteen oral arguments before the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and has appeared before the U.S. Supreme Court. Dan has been recognized as a leading labor and employment attorney by Chambers USA, Best Lawyers in America, Business North Carolina magazine, and North Carolina Super Lawyers.

Congratulations to Wake Forest Alumnus Michael C. Miller (MBA ’75, JD ’78) who was Named President of Pfeiffer University

Pfeiffer University names veteran banker and North Carolina native Michael C. Miller its next president. Miller, 59, will officially begin his new role as the university’s ninth leader on Dec. 1. Read the full story

Alumnus Wins Corporate Leadership Award

Tom Sager (JD ’76) and du Pont de Nemours & Company, Inc. will receive the national Corporate Leadership Award from the Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution in November. Continue reading »

Board and Council Merger Approved

With a unanimous vote at the February 2009 meeting, the Law Board of Visitors and Law Alumni Council voted to merge the two organizations into one. The newly merged board will keep the name of the Law Board of Visitors. Continue reading »

Howard Twiggs (’54, JD ’57) Wins Prestigious Award

Howard Twiggs (’54, JD ’57)  has received the American Association for Justice’s prestigious David S. Schrager President’s Award “for his stewardship on behalf of the injured, disabled, and mentally ill in the North Carolina House of Representatives and for his dedication to representing injury victims for nearly 30 years.”  Mr. Twiggs is a former chairman and long-time member of the Wake Forest Law School Board of Visitors and a partner with Twiggs, Beskind, Strickland & Rabaneau in Raleigh.  He is recognized for his devotion to professional and public service and as a model of service to the profession and to the public.

Jack Pinnix (JD ’73) Receives National Immigration Law Award

Wake Forest law school alumnus Jack Pinnix (JD ’83) was recently awarded the Service Excellence Award from the American Immigration Lawyers Asssociation (AILA) at the annual conference in Vancouver, Canada.  Pinnix’s Raleigh law practice with Allen and Pinnix has specialized in immigration and nationality issues for more than 30 years. Continue reading »

Five Wake Forest Law Alumni Honored with Citizen Lawyer Award

The N.C.Bar Association Citizen Lawyer Task Force has selected 11 outstanding citizen lawyers for recognition at the 2008 Annual Meeting, scheduled June 19-22 in Atlantic Beach. Formal recognition will take place during Saturday morning’s General Session. Continue reading »

WFU Law Alumni Admitted to U.S. Supreme Court Bar

Wake Forest law school alumni recently were sworn into the U.S. Supreme Court Bar upon recommendation of Dean Blake Morant on May 12.   Following the ceremony, the 18 law alumni and their family members were greeted by Chief Justice John Roberts and Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Continue reading »

Law Alumnus Receives WFU’s Highest Award

Murray Greason (’59, JD ’62) received the Wake Forest University Medallion of Merit at Founders’ Day Convocation on February 7 in Wait Chapel. The Medallion of Merit is the highest honor given by Wake Forest and is presented annually for outstanding achievement and distinguished contributions to the University. Previous recipients include presidents of the University, trustees, benefactors, and retired faculty and administrators. Continue reading »

Mike Wells (JD ’74) recognized for community service

Alumnus Mike Wells, Sr. (JD’74) was recently awarded the Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award for his outstanding service to the Winston-Salem community. Continue reading »